A Plan for Health and Wellness!

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking over the past few days.

Of course I have.

I’ve really been thinking a lot about what I wrote on Friday and I think I’ve come up with a plan! I wrote about making small changes, doing workouts that I enjoy, eating real food, etc. There seemed to be a consistent theme of doing a little at a time and not trying to revamp my life and my diet and my exercise habits all at once.

Honestly, this is all very funny to me today because yesterday I had a mini-meltdown about how I felt like things were not changing fast enough…

…that I wasn’t changing fast enough.

Thankfully, I have a husband who loves me despite the fact that I have no patience and want to do everything immediately!

Seriously, people. If I had it my way I would drop 40 pounds, become a nutritionist and  homeopathic superwoman, clean my entire apartment with vinegar and lemon, and sew 50 handbags and pillows by Monday morning. 

Anyway…

After I posted on Friday, I thought back to before I found out I was pregnant with Charlie and I remembered that my weight-loss goal back then was 40 pounds.

Wow. That seems like a lot. Where did it all come from?

When I started college, I had a weight loss goal of 5 pounds! I was determined to go to the gym (that I paid for through my tuition whether I wanted to or not) and “get in shape!” Well, my weight fluctuated a lot in college–as I’m sure it does for a lot of people–so instead of losing 5 pounds, I gained about 10-15.

My total goal is now about 20 pounds.

After college, I taught 7th grade for one year and let’s just say that my weight fluctuated upward a lot that year. I did lose some of that weight before Dave and I got hitched so I’ll say I gained another 10 pounds altogether.

Total goal: 30 pounds.

After 1 1/2 years of marriage, Dave and I had been through some pretty great times together and we had also gone through some sad times–add on 10 more pounds.

Total goal: 40 pounds.

Do you see a trend? Yes. I’m a stress eater. Can you relate? 

So, when the moment came and we found out that Charlie was on his way, I had 40 pounds that I just had to hold onto for a little while longer (while I gained 65 more)! I haven’t quite lost all 65 pounds of baby weight yet, as explained in Friday’s post, but I’m just going to round off my total goal to 40 pounds.

Get to the plan already!

Well, I was thinking about how I just need to lose a little at a time and keep it off. I don’t need to lose all of it by Monday, nor should I–I would just gain it all back and then some.

But…

…if I commit to losing 3-4 pounds a month for one year I’ll lose all 40 pounds!

Ok…so I know that weight all by itself is no indication of health, it’s just the easiest thing for most people to track. Because I know that weight alone doesn’t indicate health, I’m going to go a few steps further and track a few other things.

What I’m going to track:

  1. Weight (quantitative)
  2. Measurements (quantitative)
  3. Energy levels (qualitative)
  4. Overall physical wellness (qualitative)
  5. Overall mental wellness (qualitative)

At the end of each month I’ll update you all on my progress and at the beginning of the next month I’ll let you in on my new 30 day “wellness” goals. As I wrote this, I realized that I can’t separate my physical and mental health from my spiritual health so add on number 6. A Bible reading update! (quantitative AND qualitative)

So that’s the plan! It’s not set in stone. I’ve never done something like this before so I don’t know how it’s all going to work but I’m very optimistic!

On Friday the 14th, I’m going to give you my first update complete with weight, measurements, my completely honest overall health assessment and…pictures! Yikes! I’m also going to give you a challenge! You’ll have to come back on Friday for all the details!

This entry was posted in Goals, Health, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Plan for Health and Wellness!

  1. Pingback: July Is Coming! And Charlie is NOT Graduating from College This Weekend! | Little by Little

  2. Pingback: IT’S JULY!!! | Little by Little

Leave a Reply

