These Black Bean Brownies Are So Good!

I have a recipe for you!

It took me a few days to do this because I tried a recipe on Sunday but I wanted to change some things. So I tried again this morning and came up with this Black Bean Brownie recipe!

Why black beans? Well, it’s no secret that refined carbohydrate are not healthy options–sugar and white-wheat flour being some pretty big culprits. I’ve been doing TONS of reading recently so I don’t remember where I read this but…I’ve also read recently that wheat in general–even whole wheat–is not so good. Most of the time it’s improperly prepared, meaning it’s not soaked, sprouted or fermented, therefore it’s harder to digest and lacking in nutrients/the body has a harder time absorbing the nutrients. Also, lot’s of people these days seem to have problems with wheat (you might have problems and not even know it!)

AND…since I don’t have any soaked wheat berries lying around but always seem to have a plethora of beans on hand, black bean brownies sounded intriguing so I had to try them!

Besides, who doesn’t love brownies or chocolate once in a while? Ok, maybe some of you don’t so please bare with me and my love of chocolate.

For this recipe you need:

  • a blender
  • an 8×8 glass pan
  • measuring cups and spoons
  • and all the ingredients!

DSC06295

Toss everything into the blender, wet ingredients first.

DSC06296

Pour mix into lightly greased pan. I used shortening but I don’t recommend it. It’s NOT good for you. Try real butter instead (preferably from grass fed cows!). I’m not sure why I used shortening; it’s a habit I guess. Honestly, it didn’t even keep the brownies from sticking. You could try using paper muffin cups and make individual brownies. If you do, let me know how it works!

DSC06299

Bake it in the oven! Mine took about 35 minutes at 350°.

These brownies are seriously delicious! They do not taste like brownies from a box–they probably taste better! I mean, I ate three itty bitty squares already because they are so good.

And that is why we should not keep chocolate in our apartment–I will eat it.

The only problem with these is that they are crumbly, but definitely not dry.

DSC06302

This part is totally unnecessary but just too tempting not to try. Make up some homemade chocolate. Drizzle chocolate over brownies. Enjoy!

Brownies:

  • 3 eggs
  • 3 Tbsp. coconut oil
  • ½ c. real maple syrup
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 ½ c. soaked then cooked black beans
  • ¼ c. cocoa powder

Preheat oven to 350°. Prepare your pan or muffin cups. Put all ingredients in blender, wet ingredients first. Blend until smooth. Pour into pan and bake for 30-35 minutes (until toothpick stuck in center of brownies comes out almost clean).

Chocolate Topping:

(Sorry—I didn’t exactly measure this one)

  • 2 spoons coconut oil
  • 3 spoons real maple syrup
  • 2 heaping spoons cocoa powder

Heat coconut oil and maple syrup until just melted. Stir in cocoa powder until smooth and blended. Use to top these brownies, bananas, strawberries or whatever you want! It will harden in the refrigerator.

Soaking/cooking dried beans:

I soaked my black beans days ago and they’ve been sitting in my refrigerator waiting for me! All you do is cover a 1 lb. bag of dry beans with water plus 1 Tbsp. vinegar. Let them soak for at least 8 hours and then they’re ready to cook. I boiled/simmered mine until they were soft.

I hope you enjoy the brownies!

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to These Black Bean Brownies Are So Good!

  1. Pingback: No so excited about sharing my Before Picture | Little by Little

Leave a Reply

