July Is Coming! And Charlie is NOT Graduating from College This Weekend!

June is almost over!

It went so fast!

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and planning for July and I’m really excited about the prospects of a fresh, more organized start to my Challenge! I would call this my “official” start since I started rather haphazardly in the middle of June.

If you don’t know already, I love to be organized in all aspects of life! (Not that I always am–let’s be honest.) 

If you’re just joining me for the first time you’re probably wondering what I’m talking about. I’m referring to my year-long plan for overall health and wellness. You can read all about my plan here and my first measurements, weight, personal assessment and June goals are posted here. (Oh, and just in case you’re curious, my before picture is here.)

So, now that you’re all caught up, I really hope you’ll join me with your own goals and wellness plan! We’ll do it together! If you want, please share your goals/plans in the comments. And don’t forget to come back in a few days when I reveal my July goals and update you on all that other stuff!

One more thing: I’m TERRIBLE at coming up with names for things. Please leave me a comment/suggestion for a name for this health-plan-goal-thing!

***

My friends, I must confess, I really wanted to write something to you tonight, other than what I wrote above, but I’ve been struggling since Monday to organize my tangled thoughts.

I haven’t been taking enough walks–no, really.

I think I’ve figured out why I’ve had such a battle this week and I’ve come up with three reasons.

Reason #1: I’ve been watching the news. Do you watch the news? It’s so discouraging. I really do want to know what is going on in the world, but watching things unfold on TV is never a good option, at least not for me; I feel so burdened after even just a few minutes. (Even as I write this to you, I think of these two verses.)

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7

Reason #2: I’m supposed to read Ecclesiastes but I’ve been putting it off, not because I don’t want to read it but because I just haven’t made time in my day to do it. God has something to teach me in Ecclesiastes and I might just be a little jumbled until I listen and read. I would love some ideas from you busy mamas and papas on how to get some quality Bible reading in during the day.

Reason #3: I forgot. Yes. That fast! It may have had something to do with Charlie or my Husband. Dave and I have been keeping busy making things happen here at the apartments, especially Dave–he’s been getting up early to get some cleaning hours in before going off to his internship! I have a great Husband, y’all!

Did I mention June went FAST?! And Charlie. Oh MY! He’s growing so fast. He’s graduating from college and getting married this weekend. Ok, not really, but that is my secret fear–that I’ll wake up one morning, after feeding him and rocking him to sleep, and find him packing his bags and heading out into the world and he won’t need me to take care of him anymore.

Um, yes. This is definitely Reason #3 that your thoughts are a mess this week.

Momma’s, am I crazy or can you relate? College graduation is a LONG way off right? About 20 years or so?

***

I feel the need to write a conclusion (I’ll do it with bullet points because it’s very late…er early in the morning and I don’t want to write a paragraph):

  • I’m excited for July plans/goals! PLEASE help me come up with a name for our challenge. If I get enough name suggestions I’ll either pull one from a hat or have Dave and Charlie pick a winner!
  • I must stop watching the news and I must read Ecclesiastes.
  • Charlie is not graduating from college or getting married this weekend.
This entry was posted in Bible, Charlie, Goals, Health, Taking Walks, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July Is Coming! And Charlie is NOT Graduating from College This Weekend!

  1. Deb says:

    Yes, the news is very discouraging. I feel very burdened as well after watching it. But we have to remember that God is in control. Nothing happens without His knowing. He has a purpose and everything that is happening is to further His kingdom. It’s hard to think of that when watching things unfold (or maybe unravel) on the news…and we also must remember that they only report the worldly things that they think are great. So chin up my dear. We know who has already won.

Leave a Reply

